Sleep Function – Dynamics AX

 

Pauses the execution of the current thread for the specified number of milliseconds.

static void sleepExample(Args _arg)
{
int seconds = 10; // number of second to sleep
int i;
;
i = sleep(seconds*1000);
print "job slept for " + int2str(i/1000) + " seconds";
pause;

}

Security Role Design Principles in AX 2012 R2

Several common design principles are used when creating the base 80+ security roles included in AX 2012.
These design principles include the following:
• Roles represent the common access rights that are required for the job positions within an organization.
• Roles account for the organization size, culture and industry focus.
• Users are assigned to one or more roles according to their job.
• Role types.

  1. Functional role: for example: Warehouse worker.
  2. Organization role: for example: Employee.
  3. Application role: for example: System User.

• Role segregation categories: Functional roles are designed to accommodate segregation of duties. Different categories of roles exist that each focus on their type responsibilities.

  1. Validation: Clerks focus on recording transactions.
  2. Verification: Verifies validate the correctness of recorded transactions.
  3. Authorization: Supervisors authorize processing of the transactions.
  4. Management: Managers review transactions periodically and apply changes to the process as appropriate.

RPC exception 1726 occurred in session id–Dynamics AX

You can find this Error message when you review the Application log on the computer that is running Microsoft Dynamics AX AOS services: "RPC exception 1726 occurred in session ID"

to trace this error and know the user id who is cause this error go to link below http://support.microsoft.com/kb/937873

Walkthrough: Adding an X++ Object to a Visual Studio Project [AX 2012]

This walkthrough illustrates the following tasks:

  • Creating the class library, adding a Microsoft Dynamics AX table to the project, and accessing that table from code.

  • Creating a console application project and testing the generated assembly.

TipTip: Although this topic shows you how to test the generated assembly from Visual Studio, you can also test it from X++ because after you add the project to the AOT, the classes in the assembly are available from Microsoft Dynamics AX.

Prerequisites

To complete this walkthrough you will need:

  • Microsoft Dynamics AX with Visual Studio Tools and sample data installed

  • Visual Studio 2010

Creating the Class Library

The first step is to create the class library in Visual Studio. After you have created the class library project, you can then add a Microsoft Dynamics AX table to the project. Then you can create class methods that access that table.

To create the class library
  1. To create a new class library project, click File > New> Project.

  2. Below the Installed Templates tree, click Visual C# > Windows, select the Class Library project type and then click OK.

  3. Save the new project.

  4. Add the project to the AOT by clicking File > Add ClassLibrary1 to AOT. Notice that the project icon changes in Solution Explorer. Alternatively, you can right-click the ClassLibrary1 project and select Add ClassLibrary1 to AOT.

To add a Microsoft Dynamics AX table to the project
  1. Open the Application Explorer by clicking View > Application Explorer. Expand the Data Dictionary > Tables node and locate the CustTable table.

  2. Click the CustTable table and drag it onto the project in Solution Explorer. Alternatively, you can right-click the table and then click Add to Project. In Solution Explorer, you can see that the table and a proxy to the CustTable table are created internally by the system. In the References node you can see a reference to the assembly Microsoft.Dynamics.Ax.ManagedInterop.

    TipTip: You can add a system table or system class to your Visual Studio project even if the  interface does not support the dragging of system objects. For example, to add the FormRun system class, first add any application class, such as the Bank class. Then rename the new proxy node from Class.Bank.axproxy to Class.FormRun.axproxy.

To create methods that use the table
  • Open the Class1.cs file and add the following code. This code contains two methods that each take two parameters and return data for the specified customer.

    C#

    using System;

    namespace ClassLibrary1
    {
    public class Class1
    {
    public string GetCustomerPaymentMode(string accountNum, string dataAreaId)
    {

    string paymentMode = String.Empty;
    CustTable custTable = new CustTable();

    // Search for the customer.
    custTable = CustTable.findByCompany(dataAreaId, accountNum);

    if (custTable.Found)
    {
    // Get the value for the customer's payment mode.
    paymentMode = custTable.PaymMode;
    }

    return paymentMode;
    }

    public bool GetCustomerCreditLimit(string accountNum, string dataAreaId)
    {

    bool hasCreditLimit = false;
    CustTable custTable = new CustTable();

    // Search for the customer.
    custTable = CustTable.findByCompany(dataAreaId, accountNum);

    if (custTable.Found)
    {
    // Get the value for whether the customer has a credit limit.
    hasCreditLimit = (custTable.MandatoryCreditLimit == NoYes.No ? false : true);
    }

    return hasCreditLimit;
    }
    }
    }

Creating a Console Application Project


To create a console application project to test the assembly



  1. In Solution Explorer, right-click the solution ClassLibrary1 and select Add > New Project.



  2. Below the Installed Templates tree, click Visual C# > Windows, select the Console Application project type and then click OK.



  3. In Solution Explorer, add a reference to the ClassLibrary1 project by right-clicking the References node under the ConsoleApplication1 project and then clicking Add Reference.



  4. Click the Projects tab, select the ClassLibrary1 project and then click OK.



  5. In Solution Explorer, add a reference to the managed interop assembly by right-clicking the References node under the ConsoleApplication1 project and then clicking Add Reference.



  6. Click the Browse tab, locate the Microsoft.Dynamics.AX.ManagedInterop assembly and select OK. This assembly is located in the Client\Bin directory. For example, C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Dynamics AX\60\Client\Bin. This reference is necessary to use the Session object.


To call methods to display output to the console application



  1. Open the Program.cs file and add the following code. This code calls the GetCustomerPaymentMode and the GetCustomerCreditLimit methods from the class you created and displays the values in the console window.

    C#

    using System;
    using ClassLibrary1;
    using Microsoft.Dynamics.AX.ManagedInterop;

    namespace ConsoleApplication1
    {
    class Program
    {
    static void Main(string[] args)
    {
    // Create a session
    using (Session session = new Session())
    {
    session.Logon(null, null, null, null);

    Class1 class1 = new Class1();
    string accountNum = "3003";
    string dataAreaId = "ceu";
    string paymentMode = String.Empty;
    string hasCreditLimitText = String.Empty;
    bool hasCreditLimit;

    // Get the customer payment mode and credit limit.
    paymentMode = class1.GetCustomerPaymentMode(accountNum, dataAreaId);
    hasCreditLimit = class1.GetCustomerCreditLimit(accountNum, dataAreaId);
    hasCreditLimitText = (hasCreditLimit == false ? " and does not have" : " and has");

    // Write the data to the console
    Console.WriteLine("Customer " + accountNum + " in company " + dataAreaId +
    " has a payment mode of " + paymentMode + hasCreditLimitText +
    " a mandatory credit limit." );
    Console.ReadLine();
    }

    }
    }
    }


  2. In Solution Explorer, set the console application to be the startup project by right-clicking ConsoleApplication1 and then clicking Set as StartUp Project.


To test the generated assembly



  • Run the application. If you have the sample data installed, you will see the following output in the console window:

    Customer 3003 in company ceu has a payment mode of CHCK and does not have a mandatory credit limit.

    TipTip: You may receive an error about the .NET target framework because both projects target the .NET Framework 4 by default but the Microsoft.Dynamics.AX.ManagedInterop assembly is a mixed-mode assembly that targets the 2.0 runtime.

    To resolve this error you have two options: you can change the target framework for both projects to .NET Framework 3.5 or you can add an attribute to the app.config file of the console application project. To change the target framework, right-click each project in Solution Explorer and then click Properties. In the Target framework field, select .NET Framework 3.5.

    If you want the console application project to target the .NET Framework 4, add the useLegacyV2RuntimeActivationPolicy attribute to the startup element in the app.config file and set it to true. For example, <startup useLegacyV2RuntimeActivationPolicy="true">.

Integration with X++ Objects from Visual Studio [AX 2012]

Proxies

Proxies enable you to add an AOT element to your project in Visual Studio so that element can be accessed by managed code. When you add an AOT element to a project by using Application Explorer, a proxy for that element is created internally by the system.

The AOT elements that you can add to a managed code project are as follows:

  • Classes
  • Tables
  • Enums

After you add the AOT element to your managed code project, all the methods and properties are available through IntelliSense. For more information, see post “Walkthrough: Adding an X++ Object to a Visual Studio Project”

A typical scenario for adding an X++ object to managed code is when you identify managed code functionality that you want to call from X++. This functionality may already be located in managed code or the development scenario may require that it run in managed code.

For example, you might want to have your Microsoft Dynamics AX installation updated with customer data from an external system. In this case, you create an X++ job that is scheduled to run periodically and calls a managed code class method. This method could then check for the external data and then call the appropriate CustTable methods to update the customer data (see the following diagram). Because the managed code that you write runs in the Microsoft Dynamics AX process, that code will typically be in a class library project.

The following diagram provides a high-level view of the integration of X++ and managed code. The initial call from X++ to managed code can originate from either an X++ .NET interop call or from an event handler.

Proxies Managed Code Flow

Event Handlers

In the AOT, you can associate a class method with an event handler. An event handler is code that runs before the associated method runs or after the associated method has finished running. The event handler itself is also a class method, and it can be written in either X++ or managed code.

For example, you may have an X++ class method called MyClass.myMethod, and you have managed code that you want to run after the MyClass.myMethod method has finished running. In this case, you would create an event handler class and method in managed code, such as MyEventHandlerClass.PostmyMethod. This event handler contains the code that will execute after the MyClass.myMethod method is called.

When you add an event handler in Visual Studio, the system automatically creates a method that begins with either “Pre” (for event handlers that run before the method runs) or “Post” (for event handlers that run after the method completes). An event handler subscription is also automatically added to the MyClass.myMethod method. In addition, the properties of that subscription are set to point to the managed code class method. After the MyClass.myMethod method has finished running, then the MyEventHandlerClass.PostmyMethod event handler code executes. Event handlers can only be associated with a class in the AOTClasses node.

The following diagram illustrates how a managed code post-event handler is called. You can create the managed code class method and configure the event handler in the AOT to call that class method all from Visual Studio. For more information, see post “ Walkthrough: Creating an Event Handler in Visual Studio.”

Managed Code Event Handler Flow

Managed code post-event handler flow